Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events

The Future of Copyright in the Age of Artificial Intelligence – Book Launch

24 January 2022 at 12:00pm EST (5:00pm GMT) via Zoom

Event poster

REGISTER HERE

Please join the University of Essex School of Law for the book launch of Dr. Aviv Gaon’s new book ‘The Future of Copyright in the Age of Artificial Intelligence’ (Edward Elgar, 2021).

About the book: 

In this book, Dr. Aviv Gaon offers an extensive analysis of intellectual property and authorship theories and explores the possible impact artificial intelligence (AI) might have on those theories. The author makes compelling arguments via the exploration of authorship, ownership, and AI. 

The book advocates for a more holistic approach to authorship, arguing that there is no good reason to exclude computer-generated and AI creations from copyright. In addition, it conducts an open search for the right ‘candidate’ for ownership. In doing so, the book explores several possible legal frameworks, including assigning ownership to the programmer, the user, the AI itself and other alternatives such as the public domain or author-in-law approaches. Finally, the book explores the concept of AI as it has developed through the years in various fields, seeking to reframe the AI legal concept.

Speakers

Click HERE to for register or contact Eden Sarid (e.sarid@essex.ac.uk) for more information.


Redesigning Intellectual Property Protection in the Era of Artificial Intelligence

25 January 2022 at 9pm EST (26 Jan 2022 at 10 am Hong Kong Time) via Zoom

REGISTER HERE

Panel 1: AI and Patent Protection (10am – 11:30am, HKT / 9pm – 10:30pm, EST)

Moderator & Commentator: Ruth Okediji, Jeremiah Smith, Jr. Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

Speakers:

Artificial Inventors
Ryan Abbott, Professor of Law and Health Sciences, University of Surrey School of Law

AI and IP: Putting the Doctrinal Cart before the Empirical Horse
Daniel Gervais, Milton R. Underwood Chair in Law, Vanderbilt University Law School

Algorithmic Bias in the Coming Patent System
Dan Burk, Distinguished and Chancellor’s Professor of Law, University of California, Irvine School of Law

Artificial Intelligence Inventions
Haochen Sun, Associate Professor of Law, University of Hong Kong Faculty of Law

Panel 2: AI and Copyright Protection (11:40am – 1:10pm, HKT / 10:40pm – 12:10am, EST)

Moderator & Commentator: Mark McKenna, Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law

Speakers:

AI Copyrights: No Longer a Toy Problem
Pamela Samuelson, Richard M. Sherman Distinguished Professor of Law and Information, UC Berkeley School of Law

Fair Learning
Mark Lemley, William H. Neukom Professor of Law, Stanford Law School

A New Sui Generis Right
Haochen Sun, Associate Professor of Law, University of Hong Kong Faculty of Law

The AI-Copyright Challenge: Tech-Neutrality, Authorship, and the Public Interest
Carys Craig, Associate Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School